Home > News > Thumbnail Zoom Plus 2.2: improved captions & Save As; added sites

Thumbnail Zoom Plus 2.2: improved captions & Save As; added sites

I’ve released version 2.2, with these changes since 2.1:

Site Support:

New Feature:

  • While a pop-up is displayed, press the square bracket keys “[” or “]” to view the image numerically before or after the displayed image (respectively).  EG if it’s displaying cat-3.jpg, pressing “]” will show cat-4.jpg.  Press “]” again to go to cat-5.jpg.
    • It increases or decreases the last number in the image’s web address (URL), so it works only if images are named numerically sequentially.
    • It’s useful on sites which name their images using sequential numbers (and even on Google Images searches of those sites), but many other sites don’t name images that way; don’t expect it to work everywhere.
    • Example: Kittens Pictures (hover the main image; after the pop-up appears, press “]” to go to the next; repeat for the next after that).

Fixes:

  • Improved caption text (for Facebook.com, reddit.com, 500px.com, youtube.com, imgur.com, etc.).
  • Improved “Save Enlarged Image As“: the default filename is now based on the image’s caption text and illegal characters are automatically removed.
  • Improved “Add to history” to add to history not just the popped-up image but also the link which caused it (ensuring the link turns purple on Reddit.com).
  • Changed so Thumbnail Zoom Plus can work on galleries generated by the PrevNextArrows firefox add-on.
  • Fixed problem in Firefox Beta 15 and higher, which sometimes caused pop-ups not to appear anymore.
  • Other bug fixes

Please send feedback to firefox.add.on@davidadler.name or comment here.

  1. August 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    I HATE the “improved” default file name on Facebook. Please LOSE that feature or at least make it optional

    • August 30, 2012 at 8:30 am

      Help me understand why you hate it. My thinking was that the old Facebook filename wasn’t meaningful, like “573708_732941044_1815891604_n.jpg”. I would think a name of “David Adler.jpg” is better, and if you don’t like the suggested name, you can just type a new name in the Save dialog. How was it better before?

      • August 30, 2012 at 7:40 pm

        David,
        Operating systems force you to have unique file names in the same directory. Since I download multiple files from the same source with little or no caption, I am now FORCED to type in a unique file name.
        Before, with the facebook unique file name format, all I had to do was hit enter. For myself, a “descriptive” file name is irrelevant because I later sort them visually into categorized sub-directories, still with the file name being irrelevant. Having to manually enter nearly all the file names when I’m on a page slows me down tremendously.
        I can see your point but for me, I need to be able to optionally turn that feature off for your program to be productive for me.

  2. August 30, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    Ah, that makes sense — nonunique filenames, thanks for explaining. I’m hoping to avoid adding another preference since it each option takes some space in the dialog and makes the software seem more complex.

    What would you think if I changed it to append a random 6-digit number to the end, so that the filenames would (almost) always be unique?

    • August 31, 2012 at 5:44 pm

      I think that will work just fine David. Thanks for understanding.

  3. August 31, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    BTW, you’ve done an outstanding job on the concept and implementation. Is your concept patented? It SHOULD be!

    • August 31, 2012 at 7:09 pm

      Thank you 🙂 It’s not patented, and in fact it’s open source, meaning anyone who wants to could start from my code and go their own direction with it.

  4. Columbus
    September 1, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Your tool is great, but please, create an option to have the old “save as” behavior (prompting the original file name). Sometimes I need to save HUNDREDS pictures from some websites; appending random 6-digit number would not let me know if I already saved an image with another file name (I should then hunt for double files). You don’t need to add a specific option in the dialog: just add a tricky hidden option in the about:config panel (something like “extensions.thumbnailzoomplus.savewithorigname true/false”).
    Until this, I will have to switch back to version 2.1. Thank you for all your nice work.

  5. September 1, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    OK, I’ll add some way to use filenames instead of titles.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

